My future

So, Highers are coming up, as you’ve heard me repeatedly say on this blog in the midst of swirling anxiety and stress. Less than 2 weeks now before my first exam. I have every inclination to feel stressed – except these words cause me to falter in my anxieties:

11 For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord. They are plans for good and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. 12 In those days when you pray, I will listen. 13 You will find me when you seek me, if you look for me in earnest.

I can trust that God has my future in His hands. The whole reason why Highers are built up to be all that they’re built up to be is because of the weight they are given for our futures – universities look at these exam results and decide whether they want you based on those letters. But what if I tell you that our future does not have to be defined by what grades we get in these exams! It is so easy to get caught up in the feelings of needing to prove ourselves and the pressures of perfection and performance – but we can only do our best. And God will do the rest of it.

“In those days when you pray, I will listen.” > God will hear our desires and honour them as we seek Him. God has the best idea of what our future should hold and will make it happen if we let Him. God will help us when we ask for help during tough times of trial and testing – He will give us the help we need during exams, if we simply ask!

We can have hope and confidence because God will provide for us and we can look forward to what God has in store!

Proverbs 31:25

25 She is strong and is respected by the people.
    She looks forward to the future with joy.

Our futures don’t rest on these exams; we can place our future in God’s hands. There is something so reassuring in knowing that I don’t have to carry myself alone, that I don’t need to put so much pressure on myself – I don’t have to carry all these burdens on my own: Jesus says:

Matthew 11:28

28 “Come to me, all of you who are tired and have heavy loads, and I will give you rest. 

I’m trying so hard to trust in God and rely on Him – I can’t bring about the future God wants me to have in my own strength, I can’t even comprehend the amazing plans He has for me. These are words to live by and take comfort in and find hope in:

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust the Lord with all your heart,
    and don’t depend on your own understanding.
Remember the Lord in all you do,
    and he will give you success.

6 thoughts on “My future

  1. KATE oh my goodness!!! You cannot even begin to understand just how much this post has helped me. I was feeling so anxious about exams and failure, and this has given me hope and reassurance that they aren’t everything. Thank you x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kate this is such an amazing blog and so true, we pray for you and Ben every day. May God continue to bless you in all your studies and exams. Love you Granda and Rae xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

