Autumn

Autumn always reminds me how much I love trees. I was going to share with you one of my very first poems about a tree but I couldn’t bring myself to do it, it is so embarrassing. I feel like autumn is always the season that people underestimate but then when it comes, is really savoured. It is a time to wrap up and be cozy – I’m living in wooly jumpers now until at least March! I just love the fiery leaves that appear on the trees. I love to track the progression from summer into autumn by looking at how yellow a tree has become. Over the past few months, I’ve been watching the gold seep from the tips of branches into the body of the tree. Right now is autumn’s peak, the tree is completely auburn and full, the bare tips of branches are only now appearing as the tree begins to shed its coat for winter. I just love the colours and they warm me up inside. Aren’t we lucky to live in a place that has seasons like this and to experience something beautiful like this. In every season, there’s beauty to be found: the glint of the frost in the bright morning light; the peaks of buds in the trees after months of nothing, in the spring; the vibrancy of colours in the sky and grass and water, in summer; and the spices and flames of autumn.

Leave a Reply

